By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Nintendo announces holiday release dates and lineup (non-ghost version)

outlawauron said:
kanageddaamen said:

As a software developer I can tell you that is simply not the case.  Adequate testing is not difficult to do, it just takes time.  Since consumers have accepted the "rush to release and patch later" development model, patches have become ubiquitous.  Were people to say its nonsense (which it is) the games would take longer to reach release but would not require patching later on, whether it be for bug fixes or balance issues.

But developers do not have that luxury. In our current market, they are forced to meet deadlines by publishers who require games to be out by certain dates and times. EA employs thousands(!) of testers, and their games have bugs and glitches that dozens of patches do not fix. While I think developers should still be criticized for bugs, I'm not naive enough to expect there never to be a patch of fix for my games.

1) Doesn't matter if publishers are at fault, they are supposed to give us a quality product.

2) When it comes to software, a good management includes testing with the deadlines. Doesn't matter how big the project is, as a programmer I can tell you that. This is further proof that the game industry is having severe management problems (like game sales not meeting expectations, that's another big problem)