By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Xbox 720 or Playstation 4 will debut next year, says Activision

What's the rush? PS3/ Xbox 360 still seems relevant in gaming and newish to me.

Xbox One, PS4 and Switch (+ Many Retro Consoles)

'When the people are being beaten with a stick, they are not much happier if it is called the people's stick'- Mikhail Bakunin

Prediction: Switch will sell better than Wii U Lifetime Sales by Jan 1st 2018

Around the Network
Kresnik said:
DanneSandin said:

I haven't played InFamous at all, and I'm no expert, but wouldn't it make more sense to release each of those games in separate years? Or at least a few months apart?

And as for Killzone, I don't think we'll see that game intil 2014 at the earliest...

I'm actually expecting the next Killzone before any of the others.  If we guess at a November launch for PS4, a new Killzone will have had 2 years 9 months in development.  It's enough.  The only hurdle would of course be the new architecture, but that's a hurdle all the first party needs to overcome (and it seems at least from rumours that the new console is going to be more 'traditional' to develop for).

Comparatively, Sucker Punch would only have had 2 years 5 months to make a new Infamous (or new IP) and Naughty Dog would only have had 2 years to make a new Uncharted.  But ND is much the bigger studio and could borrow staff from The Last of Us team once that's finished, too, which is why I expect it to be possible.

Polyphony would have had 3 years to work on Gran Turismo 6, but I'm sure you're aware what they're like.  At the very least I'd expect GT6 prologue at or close to launch from them.

With all this said, I'm not personally expecting PS4 until early 2014.   Which gives all these studios another 3 or so months of development time, plus longer for some if they want to space out the releases which I'm sure isn't a bad idea.