By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Website Topics - Moderator Announcement: Posting in a locked thread MAY result in Moderation

Mr Khan said:
happydolphin said:
trasharmdsister12 said:

happydolphin said:

I have a very hard time believing that but if you say so Mr Informacion.

See above for more info. In Layman's terms the obvious fix would be to check if a thread is locked in the post php script before executing the rest of the existing code. I'm not sure if that's possible with the setup of the back end as it is but that would be the obvious fix if things work as I'd expect them to.

I read your post tads and I'm a software engineer by trade I'm almost certain that's an easy fix. A simple hook at the moment the post is made to check if the thread is locked (the flag already exists) and you're golden.

No bells, no whistles, a five minute fix I would honestly guess.

Shows that i'm definitely not a web developer <_>.

But remember, this is the site where the whole "this user's post has been removed" thing (which nobody, from site administration on down, wants or is happy with).

I like it...

It makes the fact that people get moderated stand out.

Around the Network
trasharmdsister12 said:

As I've mentioned this is not something the mods can fix. I personally am a developer but not for this site. If I was given the source code and access to the back end setup I *could* possibly fix it (it depends on where/how things are being done). Unfortunately I do not have access to such things so I'm at the will of the site admins for the time being. It is a site bug, not a lack of skill on a moderator's part to lock a thread (at least I'd hope not... I mean, I hope we mods are capable of pressing some basic buttons ).