By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - Witcher 2 First Impressions

I logged in about 90 mins of Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition last night before going to bed with a huge headache (To be clear, my head was hurting well before I started playing the game).  Anyway, since I don't see many people talking about it, I will.  Keep in mind that I'm not a humongous fan of Lord of the Rings type lore and games like Dragon Age/Demon's Souls.

First off, the graphics aren't what I expected.  I was a step up from games like Fable 3 and Dragon Age Origins but nothing mind blowing.  I watched videos of the game on youtube and it really makes the game look better than it really is.  2D bushes, undetailed textures, etc. run rampant.  I didn't install the game so pop up was pretty bad, too.  I installed the game before I went to bed but I haven't played it since.  Installing is supposed to make a big difference, though.  Anyway, I don't see anybody seeing this game in person and thinking it's a graphical powerhouse.  It's about par for the course with other mideval WRPGs and even the main character model was average at best.  Not bad but not amazing.

Sound was pretty good.  About what you would expect from a game like this.  Great music and atmosphere.  Really good voice acting by everyone except the main character himself.  He's not bad but something about Geralt's voice just doesn't feel right.  He's like Solid Snake only he's almost whispering and he talks too fast.  I'm sure that, in time, I'll be able to overlook it.

Story seems like it's going to be epic.  Witchers are fucking bad asses, to boot.  I've just scratched the surface but I feel that this is going to be the highlight of the game, for me.  The universe seems to be thoroughly thought out.  Really makes everything believeable.