By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - I'm new to Final Fantasy, where do I start?

Carl2291 said:
PullusPardus said:

I started Final Fantasy with Final Fantasy 1 and played every single final fantasy, and yet you say true fans start with VII? what kinda of mentality is this? i am personally offended by this bullshit.

Hey, don't hate on me just because you're not a real FF fan :/

i'm such a huge FF fan that if i stare at my Fan , and say FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF,  it will sound like the Chrystal Theme 

Around the Network

Also, what exactly makes FF13 inferior compared to the other FF games?

Jay520 said:
For all of my time as an internet lurker, I've seen an incalculable amount of praise for this series. Many even going as far as claiming it to be the greatest gaming series of all time. Although the latest iterations haven't been quite as well-received, the Final Fantasy still holds much significance to a large amount of gamers.

Unfortunately for me, I haven't had the pleasure to experience this series other than a few box-arts & images. The reason being my ignorance prior to this generation (I didn't play Zelda until earlier this year!), when the series was allegedly at it's peak, and my phobia of JRPGs. But now, I've learned more about gaming, about Final Fantasy, & I've just recently killed my fear of JRPGs (reading a gamespot review of FFX convinced me quite a bit), and I'm ready to experience what many claim to be the greatest game series of all time.

So, where should I start? & what games are the best? & how fun is turn-based combat (it seems boring to me, but I'll get used to it)

A list of your favorite FF games would be nice.