By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - Expect at Least a 60% Drop in NA Software sales next Week

This is my first year, like most of you, following software sales. Everyweek I look back at last year to get an Idea of what will happen this year. Lat year the week of Christmas saw a 66% percent drop or so. However this year we had 1 extra day before Christmas in the Charts. The 23rd was not counted in last years week of Christmas sale, but it will be this year. Offsetting this will be the fact that that Wii Sport is going to have an incredible dropoff, from 750k to probably less than 150k(I have not heard of ANYSTORES getting stock).

What does this mean?

Well I would assume that SMG will drop more than the average of the rest of the games, only because it was so high to begin with. The Huge Wii sales last week pulled SMG up with it. I would be VERY happy if it Managed to sell 120k. I am thinking most likely 90-100. COD4 and AC will have major drops, but I do not feel they will drop as high a % as SMG the both will do between 70-80k, maybe 60k on the low side. I think WiiPlay will sell great because I think families that bought Wii are gonna realise they need more contollers. 

I think we will see this week which games will have legs and which ones won't. If a games has over an 80% drop... chop its legs off, it aint going far. I am also curious to see if RE4's legs can survive Christmas, or maybe the holiday rush led to a burnout.

Games to watch out for.

UC, R&C:ToD, Uncharted, MP8, SMG, AC, COD4, M&S.   I think this week will point out which games go on to sell Millions upon Millions and which games will keep their goods sale they have already had(or in Uncharted and R&C's case should have had)