By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Carmack: "PS3 Better Than Anything... Except 360"

MikeB said:

Before people getting upset with what I wrote above I would like people to read the perspective from Mike Acton of Insomniac games, a games console programmer:

http://www.develop-online.net/features/181/QA-Insomniacs-Mike-Acton

http://www.developmag.com/interviews/175/QA-Insomniacs-Mike-Acton-Part-2

He addresses a lot of points I have been advocating since many years before that interview and I agree 100% with his given perspective there.

IMO Microsoft had a lot to do with the point Mike Acton addresses above. Microsoft has indeed bribed many university corporate managers to try to influence the industry and push through their dominance. This also by providing students and universities with free development tools. In the end Microsoft of course wants new developers to become familiar and even dependent upon the solutions they provide, actually the more dependent the better. For example if XBLA fully ties you to their platforms/solutions they will do everything they can to facilitate this.

I understand Microsoft is a commercial company, but this not at all helps with the education of more knowledgeable and free thinking programmers and developers from the grand perspective.

Just a word of advice. Many people on here MikeB would give your comments and quotes more credibility if all the ones you favoured were not from PS3 only developers. It makes your arguement entirely one sided.

I'm just pointing this out to you. Having sat back recently, the world of BS on the internet is alot clearer.

Whagt it looks like in this thread, is you putting down world reknowned leaders in graphics, and promoting developers who have never been reknowned for it.