By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - If Kinect becomes a success, how will PS3 & Wii be affected?

reidlosdog said:
GianCarmen said:

One name to rule them all MARIO.

I don't like the Lord of the Rings comment too much....

Mario isn't taught in High School classrooms or University Lecture Halls as being one of the greatest masterpieces of this century.

You know what I wonder?  I wonder how many gamers go to College or a University and graduate.  That would be a interesting statistic.  VGChartz, AWAY!!

We are talking about games not college. I graduated with a degree in History and a minor in Geography. I know a little bit of Italian, I have relatives in Itay, i have been there a number of times. Anything else.

Around the Network

If It's successful they will copy. Wii will have it's own version of hands free gaming and Sony would just come up with a much better eyetoy.

It's just that simple.

sadly motion controllers may become a big thing :(

Hardcore gamers keep the ps360 alive. The casuals is for nintendo.

Kinect is a fad for the console known for fps usage.

Check these hilarious commentsFunny Comments and replies

The thing is, I don't see Kinect being successfully globally or in markets that would affect current trends apart from maybe the US.

In the US I can see it selling well, and I think it could help MS get 360 to a more general audience, thereby closing of some of the Wii's market share a bit and helping to keep PS3/Move in the less dominant position.

But... in Europe I just can't see it being that big a success.  The space requirements are just hugely against it.  UK is a great market for 360 but terrible for room space.  This, plus the fact Move launched first and PS3/Wii are far more dominant than 360 outside UK convince me it just won't make much difference in this key market.