By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Should I Get Demon's Souls?

I've got a friend heading over to NA soon. I'm planning on picking up the God Of War Collection and possibly one other game. Demon's Souls might be a good choice as it's also not available in Europe.

Now, on to the question.

Would I enjoy Demons Souls if I got it?

I have no interest whatsoever in JRPG's. As for western RPG's I really like Fable and I think Oblivion is just average. I have very little gaming experience in the genre.

Reasons I'm interested:

-The look and style of Demon's Souls.

-The fact that it's highly rated and has a strong following on this site.

-The unusal gameplay mechanics, leaving messages, spirt forms, players joining other games to help or kill them etc.

What I'm not sure about:

-The difficulty. How difficult is this game? Ninja Gaiden difficult, or much worse? I can get frustrated sometimes when gaming.

-Is it too hardcore for someone not that into RPG's?

Basically that's it.

What do you guys think? I'd like some opinions.

Around the Network

Get it. And tell your friend to get me one copy because I'm desperate for this game.

Well, my avatar speaks volume's about my Demon's Souls suggestion, but to me it's the best game this gen so far, and one of the best i've ever played.

I shall adress your negative points then ;)

1 - The game is very difficult at the start, since you'll have a very steep dificulty curve, learning about timings, dodges, blocks, parries, enemy patterns and such. Once you reach end game you'll be more confortable with the game, after dying tons of times and losing tons of souls (the game currency for everything, even leveling up)

Then you'll hit NG+ and you'll cry, because it sometimes makes even Ghouls and Goblins and Battletoads seem like child play xD