By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Is there too much violence in video game the theacher ask ?

Do you think there is too much violence in video game ? That the question I ask to my students today. I'm a french teacher in a secondary school ( teaching moral class) and we made a debate about this question.

We also try to think about the impact the video game could have in our live (violent video game...). A lot of my students are playing games like Halo, Killzone and GTA. With all the violence we've seen in our society, I'm wondering if there a couple of parent who doens't do there job. I'm a little bit septical about the good side of this.

What do you think of this VGChartz lovers ?

Around the Network

Well, for people with mental issues, violent video games can cause further problems. But for normal people, who have no issues with reality or urges to do violence, it is perfecty fine.

Some people's violence would be a lot worse if there wasn't video games for them to get their jollies out on.

Murder simulators ftw.

In my opinion
there is too much violence in movies too. As long as the 10 year olds don't get to see Friday the 13'th or what not, it's ok.
There is too much violence only if they get to play the game/watch the movie.
Of course, a video game is much more than a movie, you are the character, not just watching one, so I guess the influences are far greater. That's why, parents, mind what they play as long as you can.
There are far more non violent games out there, mostly aimed at kids and families with kids, so have them play those, or better yet, play it with them.
They'll do whatever they want anyway as soon as they can think for themselves. And then it's up to them.

Not too much violence, but not enough parenting and understanding of games. BTW, how old are we talking? as I think most 15-16 yr olds are OK to play those games.