By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Why is there so much hate for GTAIV?

WessleWoggle said:
coolestguyever said:
well its worse than any of the PS2 versions of the game.

Fun > Realistic

Vice City/San Andreas were very fun and this game is too realistic and not as fun. The cover system is pointless, massive lag online, driving is sub-par for a game that's half driving.

I used to be a master driver on San Andreas, but on GTA I was driving like a drunk, couldn't turn to save my life.

You DO drive like you are drunk after leaving bars.

Around the Network

Good Story. But gameplay was dull. I miss my Jets, No offline multiplayer. Gameplay based scores were to high, Graphics based scores were WAY to high [Assassin's Creed pawns it easily when it comes to open world graphics]. Story based scores were a bit over the top.

It was an amazing piece of software for a console no doubt, but just wasn't that great of a game IMO.

4 ≈ One

It became too mainstream, and it became much more realistic over fun, thats the main issues.

The hate mainly comes from Wii only owners and people who have not yet played the game yet. GTA IV FTW.

WessleWoggle said:
I think it deserves the hate because I had more fun with San Andreas.

ditto.

Around the Network

because of the been there done that feeling

Bet reminder: I bet with Tboned51 that Splatoon won't reach the 1 million shipped mark by the end of 2015. I win if he loses and I lose if I lost.

DTG said:
Because the "lower class" (intellectually speaking, though there is a correlation between education, career choice and intellectual capacity) prefers disposable and shallow fun (provided by previous GTA games) vs a deeper, better storyline that provides some sort of intellectual stimulation. 80% of the population is made up of such people.

You are right, the story is very deep in this one, and consistent too