By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Ps3: the Dreamcast/Sega Saturn of this Generation?

let me explain: Developers dislike the ps3 a lot

I work as a freelance game tester, and I have to deal with multiplatform games a lot.

The PS3 game are just ports from the 360, and the bugs come out to play, porting is not an easy task, lot's of coding, and some gets gobbled or something. I have seen a release date pushed back more than a month because of Port problems.
Many times The PS3 Version is filled with bugs that were fixed on the 360 (I am under an NDA so that is all I can say, sorry!), and the developer, who are under pressure to release the game, give up on the pS3 build. The Dev kit for the 360 is apparently(I do not code, I test), much better than the PS3's, which is logical since Microsoft is in that business.

This is why some multiplatforms become 360 excluvice .

With the economy worsening, and Japans, being hit very hard, Sony can not keep using price cuts, though it may increase sales, it olny loses them money faster, thats not a win situation.

Also, bad consumer rep, many people think negitivly about the PS3, Recalls, Price and worst yet, confusion on what it is: Too many versions of the same product,20gig, 80 gig, 2USb,ect , I know some poor fellows who are wating for a Backwards compatibale verson to turn up in our area...

The PS3 is a good consol, dispite all of these factors, but so was the Dreamcast, fun games, too costly, not enough support...

What do YOU THE READER THINK? (please no anger, I am looking for a nice dicussion, nothing more!)

Around the Network

I disagree.

Sony for one still has plenty of 3rd party support, just lacking in 3rd party exclusivity.

Sony also has a much larger 1st, 2nd party offering than the Saturn and Dreamcast ever did.

iPhone = Great gaming device. Don't agree? Who cares, because you're wrong.

Currently playing: