By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Infamous Q&A: Only using 30% of PS3 Power

The reason they estimate 30% is partly due to benchmarks, but also to what they estimate can generate from the processors, that can fit in the memory. They know they can't get theoretical maximums. It's about what can actually fit in the memory (which can be indicated by available bandwidth saving protocols and algorythims), and once they learn more of the system, they can fit more.

A flashy-first game is awesome when it comes out. A great-first game is awesome forever.

Plus, just for the hell of it: Kelly Brook at the 2008 BAFTAs

Around the Network
Caey said:
 ...I'm not a GPU expert, but both the Xbox360 and PS3 are made around a similar graphics core...

Ehhh, nope :P

Their GPU are VERY different architectures... but in theory the 360's GPU si better, because its more advanced... is like comparing the PS2's and Xbox GPUs... the PS2's had LOTS of raw horsepower, but the Xbox's was in many ways, more modern.

Maybe that's why developers are running code on CPU, simply because its GPU limited.

I remember the times when I player Half-Life in software mode, without those things called "graphics accelerators"... yeah, the good times  

@ BenKenobi88 

And why the heck are they only using 30%? Why don't they use 100?

Based on their comments it's more like 10% of the available SPE potential.