By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Sega Nears Deal For ‘Angry Birds’ Mobile Game Maker

SKMBlake said:
Zkuq said:

I don't know about the popularity of Angry Birds at this point, but the revenue chart @the-pi-guy posted seems to indicate that Rovio is definitely not comparable to MySpace. If anything, it seems they're at their prime, despite the perceived lack of visibility.

Well their net income (which is the most important aspect) aren't that faboulous https://www.statista.com/statistics/1249218/rovio-annual-net-income/ and def not worth 1 billion from my perspective, but I don't work for Sega

Yeah, revenue definitely isn't a perfect meter. I'm not an expert, but I do agree that net income isn't looking that great, possibly even not worth the price. Of course net income isn't the only thing Sega would get: there's things like skilled personnel as well, and probably many other factors too. I don't know how much sense this acquisition makes, but I don't think it seems as bad as some have suggested in this thread either.

Around the Network
SKMBlake said:

They already did that

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Angry_Birds_Movie#:~:text=The%20Angry%20Birds%20Movie%20(also,distributed%20by%20Sony%20Pictures%20Releasing.

Grossed 352 million $

I mean make more obviously.

SKMBlake said:
Zkuq said:

I don't know about the popularity of Angry Birds at this point, but the revenue chart @the-pi-guy posted seems to indicate that Rovio is definitely not comparable to MySpace. If anything, it seems they're at their prime, despite the perceived lack of visibility.

Well their net income (which is the most important aspect) aren't that faboulous https://www.statista.com/statistics/1249218/rovio-annual-net-income/ and def not worth 1 billion from my perspective, but I don't work for Sega

It might be a little high, but: