By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - What are your worst multiplayer moments?

Kakadu18 said:
JackHandy said:

I just had one, literally last night while playing Halo Infinite. I've been playing online games since 2000, and this was by far my worst moment. I was camping around a corner--crouching of course so I was off radar--because I knew someone was coming. I waited, waited, waited, the person ran out as expected and then... I started shooting air like a moron. The guy casually jumped, turned around, meleed me twice and killed me without so much as taking a single bullet--and this after me playing the franchise since 2001. I don't know how it happened, either. I just had a brain fart to end all brain farts, I guess. It was so utterly pathetic that all I could do was laugh.

My runner up to that?

Thinking--back when voice chat first started on XBL--that turning my mic on and saying hello to everyone was going to net me friends.

It didn't.

It just got me banned, and called a homosexual slur.

I learned my lesson.

You got banned for saying hello?

Yes. I was playing RTCW on Xbox Live after it just came out (before Halo 2, this was the online FPS). In that game, there was no match-making like there is today. You had to join someone's created server to play a match. Well, I joined, said hello and then this kid basically called me a the "f" word and banned me on the spot. 

And with that, went my belief in voice chat lol.

Around the Network
JackHandy said:
Kakadu18 said:

You got banned for saying hello?

Yes. I was playing RTCW on Xbox Live after it just came out (before Halo 2, this was the online FPS). In that game, there was no match-making like there is today. You had to join someone's created server to play a match. Well, I joined, said hello and then this kid basically called me a the "f" word and banned me on the spot.