By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Favourite Sega console

I think the best is...

Master System 5 10.42%

Megadrive/Genesis 22 45.83%

Saturn 5 10.42%

Dreamcast 16 33.33%

Total:48

By far the Dreamcast, its not even close. In fact I've been gaming for almost 30 years, and the best times I had was with the dreamcast, Sega rally, Sega GT, Skies of arcadia, jet set radio, Shenmue, Sonic adventure, Crazy taxi, Virtua tennis, resident evil code veronica, Soulcalibur, Phantasy star, Chu Chu rockets, Metropolis street racer and many other amazing games.

Best console ever, way underrated, and first time in my life I ever dipped into online.

Around the Network
StuOhQ said:
The_Liquid_Laser said:
 I tried buying a Dreamcast a couple of times, but they kept breaking down shortly after I bought them.

In what ways did they stop working? Most problems with the Dreamcast can be fixed by pulling out the PSU and cleaning it - no technical skills required (if I can do it, anyone can). Sometimes the laser will need a spit-shine too, but you don't even need to open the case for that. 

I'll agree that the Genny is more durable, but the model 1's do have a tendency towards cracked solder joints that can leave you looking at a black screen with audio still running. 

Both amazing systems, no doubt. I only recently got into the Saturn and have been enjoying it's library. I always wanted one as a kid, but definitely couldn't convince my parents to buy three Gen 5 systems :D

The PSU might actually be a problem on one of them.  I still have the unit, so I can try replacing it and see what happens.  Thanks for the tip. 

(The other one would scratch my discs among other issues.  I'm just not going to fool with that one.)

DreamCast although I didn't play that many games on it, I liked them a lot: Crazy Taxi, Soul Calibur, Dead of Alive 2 and Resident Evil: Code Veronica.

Signature goes here!