By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Is it fair to criticise a game for being too hard/easy?

Is it fair to criticise a game for being too hard/easy?

Yes, for both 43 39.45%

No, for both 21 19.27%

Only for being too hard 4 3.67%

Only for being too easy 12 11.01%

Other / it depends... 26 23.85%

I don't play games, show me the results 3 2.75%

Total:109

Only if the 'easy' option isn't easy or the 'hard' option isn't hard, if that makes sense.

Around the Network

If it affects gameplay or the enjoyment of playing the game, then I guess it's fair for people to complain about it..

But for reviewers, if they are obviously awful at the game, then complaining about difficultly may not be the best option to do. You don't need to be a top player, but if you are average at the game, then at least you can be more objective about the difficulty

There are game genres that I'm not good at and don't want to invest time into. I don't enjoy these games, but I wouldn't say they are bad games because I'm bad at them. On the other hand, if there are unfair mechanics in the game that make a game extremely difficult, then that can be a reason why a game is unfairly difficult.

FE Awakening was a really easy game, but I still enjoyed playing it :/

NintenDomination [May 2015 - July 2017]

- Official  VGChartz Tutorial Thread - 

NintenDomination [2015/05/19 - 2017/07/02]

Here lies the hidden threads. 

| |

Nintendo Metascore | Official NintenDomination | VGC Tutorial Thread

| Best and Worst of Miiverse | Manga Discussion Thead |
[3DS] Winter Playtimes [Wii U]

It's not like a demand or an entitlement but I'd love to see more developers embrace options for difficulty. It's absolutely one of the most awesome things about user-created mods.