By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Best Way to Play Shenmue I & II?

So I always loved the Shenmue games, and quickly backed and am looking forward to Shenmue III after so many years :D

But even though it gonna be a while till I play SIII I would like to go back and play I & II (preferably dubbed) again.

Now the first problem is Shenmue I only came out on Dreamcast, II also came out on Dreamcast but wasnt dubbed. A dubbed version of II did eventually come out on the Original Xbox, but you cant play the first on that console.

So short of buying a Dreamcast and Original Xbox, what options are there to play these? I guess it would have to come down to some kind of emulation, but I have little knowledge in this area.

I looked up and saw a cool looking handheld called the GPD XD (I think) would that be able to play these?

For the record I do actually already have both the XB and DC versions packed away somewhere (but dont have the consoles). Ideally, I would like them to both be released on PSN and I would buy them there and play on PS4 :D

The best way to find out if you can trust somebody is to trust them.

Ernest Hemmingway

Around the Network

It depends on how you want to go about it. It sounds like you already answered your own question, you have both versions, but you are waiting for a release on the PS4.

With a bit of luck, Shenmue II might come to Xbox One as a BC title.

Brutalyst said:

So I always loved the Shenmue games, and quickly backed and am looking forward to Shenmue III after so many years :D

But even though it gonna be a while till I play SIII I would like to go back and play I & II (preferably dubbed) again.

Now the first problem is Shenmue I only came out on Dreamcast, II also came out on Dreamcast but wasnt dubbed. A dubbed version of II did eventually come out on the Original Xbox, but you cant play the first on that console.