By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Can Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Sell 12mil Lifetime (or close to it)

Yes, MK is an evergreen series for Nintendo. They continue to sell for years after release.

Around the Network

i'd say yes, if there's a game capable of surpassing 10m it's mario kart, i don't see any other game being able to outsell it except pokemon.

“On my business card, I am a corporate president. In my mind, I am a game developer. But in my heart, I am a gamer.” - Satoru Iwata

Fuchigole said:
As some others have said. It depends on when MK9 releases and how many Switches are sold.
By the way I don't remember a port outselling the original version before.

I don't think I remember a port outselling the original version either, but Mario Kart 8 Deluxe is in a sort of weird specific position where while it is a port, it's a port of a game that originally released on a console that was essentially already dead by the time it came out. (though it still sold 8 million), so there's tons of people out there who probably never even played it since a lot of people didn't even know what the fuck a Wii U was and those who did a lot of them thought it was an add-on controller for the Wii.

Yup. I can definitely see it sell that well. Safe prediction, I'd say (and that's a good thing)

I doubt it, especially if they make MK9 down the road.. :/

NintenDomination [May 2015 - July 2017]

- Official  VGChartz Tutorial Thread - 

NintenDomination [2015/05/19 - 2017/07/02]

Here lies the hidden threads. 

| |

Nintendo Metascore | Official NintenDomination | VGC Tutorial Thread

| Best and Worst of Miiverse | Manga Discussion Thead |
[3DS] Winter Playtimes [Wii U]

Around the Network

End of 2016

MK7-14.82m

MK8-8.36m