By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - PC Discussion - Need some PC expert help... Gtx 1080???

Hey guys. I am fairly new to the pc world. I consider myself between "slightly below average" and "wtf am I doing". 

So i'm looking at upgrading a couple things with pc I purchased pre-built (yeah I know) last year; including the video card and cpu.

I figure I would just go ahead an get the gold standard 1080 to "future proof" my pc for a while. It's actually a lot more complicated than I thought it would be. There are so many third parties with multiple itterations of the 1080 that it is hard to figure out which one to pick. 

I'm seeing a few cards for around $580 on amazon such as Zotac... Which sounds like a good price from a not well known company. ASUS even has their 1080 (turbo) for $569 after a $20 rebate. 

Is it worth it to buy these "basic" versions of the 1080 card? It's difficult to find the differences between that version; and the more expensive versions with fancy lights and extras on it. Do i need these extras??

Here is the example I'm going to use so I can get hopefully recieve some help: 

So this is the "basic" version I was talking about with Asus.  It is $569 after a $20 rebate. It is a plain looking black 1080 card.

Also available with ASUS is the same 1080 card but it's called the "ROG Strix" edition or something. It's being sold for $638. All I can tell is that the card itself has some fancy lights and designs. 

Is one card better than the other?? and if so is it significant enough to be worth that almost $70???

**CURRENT PC BUILD**

Gpu - AMD RX 480 4 gb

CPU - Intel I5 6402p

Memory - 2x8gb 2400

Motherboard - MSI bazooka B150m

HDD - 1 tb 7200 rpm

Psu - no idea

****EDIT****