By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Next year is a big gaming year for me and you can be apart of my year too!

-snip-

Alt removed -RavenXtra

Around the Network
VGPolyglot said:
vivster said:

I know around a thousand of them including most of their pronunciations and about 2000 vocab. It's still not nearly enough to properly understand much. And that's with hundreds of hours of anime under my belt. My grammar is at best rudimentary and my sentence construction ability is non existent. To be fair though, Japanese sentence construction is very counter intuitive for western learners.

By the end of next year I should be a lot more confident and should've started reading some Japanese websites and mangas.

Wow, so you're much further along than I am! I just started a few months ago. How long have you been learning?

I actually had a time out for over a year until 3 months ago when I started learning for earnest again. I started a few years ago loosely looking at textbooks and fiddling around with Anki for vocab learning. But then I overdid it with Anki and had like 200 new vocab repetions a day and just couldn't take it anymore. So I stopped for a long time but was still engaging daily with Japanese through anime and trying to read stuff.

Then a few months ago I wanted to start again since my new Job is perfect for learning in between. I found wanikani.com and so far it has been pretty great for me. But the most amazing thing is how much knowledge I kept over the years without learning. I'm far into the repetition but I'm still at a point where I already know most of the new stuff I'm learning. It's pretty cool since you can take it as slow or as fast as you want. I've been trying to have a look into Tae Kim's guide but didn't have the time to really get into grammar.