By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - A question concerning economics & minimum wage

Should the minimum wage be increased to $15?

Yes, for all jobs. 47 37.60%

Yes, but only for certain jobs. 11 8.80%

No, only for more professional jobs. 10 8.00%

No, not at all. 44 35.20%

Other/ N/A 13 10.40%

Total:125

Bernie Sanders has a goal of making a $15 minimum wage, ranging from librarians to your McDonalds cashiers. I've been thinking about it a lot lately, but wouldn't that cause more harm than good?

I'm not exactly the smartest in economics, so please bare with me. If we drastically increase the minimum wage, wouldn't that result into inflation, thus making the wage increase redundant and useless? 

Again, I'm not the most educated on American economics. I'm still learning about it, so don't be surprised if I have misunderstood this subject.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

12/22/2016- Made a bet with Ganoncrotch that the first 6 months of 2017 will be worse than 2016. A poll will be made to determine the winner. Loser has to take a picture of them imitating their profile picture.

Around the Network

You shouldn't increase minimum wage because that will lower productivity since an employee salary's are an expense ...

Less employees = Less done ...

It also doesn't make sense to increase minimum wages where the cost of living is lower too ...

While I'm no expert in economics myself, I think that this would do more harm than good in the long run. I mean think about it, if it becomes easier to get more and more money, said money loses its value. I feel like alot of people advocating for this don't realize that.