By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Rock Band 4 not coming to Wii U because "the audience is not there"

Samus Aran said:
BasiltheBatLord said:

it's really sad that the "go play an actual guitar" argument has permeated this thread but allow me to butt in here:

i started playing drums just before i started playing Rock Band for the first time.  in my beginner years Rock Band was a crucial component to my development as a player, primarily due to the exposure the game gave me to so many common drum parts across so many different styles and genres.  it wasn't so much that the game opened me up to listen to other artists, it was just that it allowed me to understand so much more what is expected of percussion in certain styles, certain genres, certain players etc.  btw the whole reason this is possible is because expert charts, (at least for drums) are almost always note-by-note accurate.  it helped increase my speed over time too but the former is more important imo.  i'm now a semi-professional player who's recorded on several albums and i have never forgotten about the influence that Rock Band had on me as a player in my formative years.  whenever new players ask me for advice in learning drums, i always include Rock Band in my advice. because of this experience, everytime i see the"go play a real instrument" argument, i just come to the conclusion that the person saying that doesn't know what they're taking about.

I play the guitar, GH and RB is nothing like playing a guitar. 

Anyway this franchise was a fad. It has been milked dry already.

Yeah I think in general the whole instrumental games fad is mostly dead. 

People got tired of having 800 different plastic accessories sitting around in their living room. 

Around the Network
Samus Aran said:
Runa216 said:

Just like how Nintendo should sue Sega for making a platformer.