By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
S.T.A.G.E. said:

Sexism is a two way street. Of course because of society being male dominated it is a lopsided situation but women objectify us as well and we cannot stop it from happening. Sexism needs to stop...but Objectifying a person will not. Think I am lying? Guys like Channging Tatum gained fame with females because objectification, but as an actor/model seems to be completely safe with himself and believes in his talents. He opted to be in Magic Mike...and i've spoken to women before....they didnt go to watch that movie just to see him act. Think about it. He SUBJECTED himself to it because he IS a SEXUAL ENTITY. Much like some female actresses or models that we find to be attractive sexually...they exude sexual energy.

Everything you described has nothing to do with sexism, but rather art direction which the viewer who complained finds to be displeasing. I am an artist...I think I would know about art direction. Sexism is discrimination against the other sex. Making a woman moan in a movie isn't sexism, that by definition is called oversexualization.

For an artist to oversexualize is a artisitic choice...coming from the mind of a most likely overlysexual person.
Women are not so different. The problem is we act like they cannot be just as bad as us.

sexualize

[seks̸ho̵̅o̅ ə līz′

transitive verb

sexualizedsexualizin
to make sexual; endow with sexual significance, feeling, etc.

oversexualize

Verb

(third-person singular simple present oversexualizes, present participle oversexualizing, simple past and past participle oversexualized)

1. To sexualize excessively.
 Related terms
  • oversexualization
Origin

over- +‎ sexualize

It is a choice...because innately are sexual.