By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Why do so many people hate indies?

ohmylanta1003 said:
Clyde32 said:
I noticed that some people are answering the question in the title instead of commenting on the article. You guys I'm not asking the question I'm posting the article.

Then change the title. And I read it earlier on IGN, but it's a long read. Most people probably just want to answer the question in the title instead of going through the article.

I'm still learning on the title deal. I'm trying to make it as clickbait as possible. 

Around the Network

I don't buy any download only game, period. That means I don't buy any indie games. Now if they release it on a disc, I will purchase them instantly because they look like nice and fun games (not all but some)

Clyde32 said:

The point is, both sides of the spectrum have weight and value, yet the scale is slowly (and demonstrably) being tipped toward the so-called indie side in terms of not only volume, but in terms of quality. And again, I don't mean indie literally; I mean it in the sense of how a lot of the haters mean it, describing smaller games made on smaller budgets from smaller teams. This shift marks an inevitable move as the mid-tier developers all but disappear, triple-A-reliant studios close down left and right, and the few big publishers left streamline their operations to make the most money (though I have to give a shoutout to Ubisoft here, a publisher that supports games across the spectrum, and Sony, who gives money hand-over-fist to studios it doesn't even own to create IP that isn't even exclusive).

I'm actually really curious has their been any games where sony actually did this? I mean I know sony santa monica helps indies with game development but in their case most all of the games are exclusive to sony systems.  

cantaim said:
Clyde32 said: