By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Forbes: Microsoft Should Give XBox One To Nintendo

kowenicki said:
kitler53 said:

have you looked at the numbers since the NPD adjustements?

And are you suggesting that MS should takes losses for the next 6 years waiting for another chance?  

...gaming hasn't been doing well at all, financially speaking.  THQ.  Irrational.  Nintendo.  Sony.    i love video games but i wouldn't invest my own money into anything video game related.  the crash is coming and quite soon imo.

You sound just like Daniel Loeb.

So the logical conclusion of this is Nintendio should close its doors, Sony should stick to financial services and perhaps making movies and MS should close Devices division.

By your metric... I'd agree.  But thats not the real world, nothing is that black and white in business.

well listen, i'm not business expert.  i'm an engineer by trade.  ..but as a boy scout i learn that some times you're better off amputating an injured limb rather than trying to save it.  ..or selling my car to the junk yard rather than pay to fix it.  ..or any number of other wild analogies.

MS is in a very differnt position than sony or nintendo.  for MS, video games are more of a side project than a core business.  ..a distraction as many articles are calling it.  there's not a lot of money for them here, not compared to their core ventures.    but by the same hat,.. it won't bankrupt them either so i guess things could go either way.

..i guess it all comes down to what the new CEO's vision is but xbox doesn't really have much of a synergy with windows or office.  it's not going to help them sell more of their core products.  i really don't know what xbox does for MS as a corporate entity.  what's in it for MS?  what's the payoff that makes it worth it to them? i just don't see it

eh.

Around the Network