By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Iwata isn't Nintendo's problem. It's Miyamoto

Miyamoto is giving it one last hurrah before bowing out. I guess we'll see if he is the problem or not soon enough.

"On my business card I am a corporate president. In my mind I am a game developer. But in my heart I am a gamer." - Satoru Iwata

Around the Network
DevilRising said:
gigaSheik said:

Iwata is the one who greenlight projects so he's the one to blame.

Blame for what? People keep talking about "who's to blame". The only problem Nintendo had in 2013, was not getting their goddamn games out in a timely fashion. That's pretty much it. So wherever the blame lies for THAT, sure. The Wii U itself, is fine, the controller is a great piece of tech and fun to use, the eShop is lining up with a LOT of great upcoming content. The retail games are on their way. Third party support needs to pick back up for sure, but the system is going to do well in 2014, just on the strength of the games coming out this year. The question is not "will Wii U do well in 2014", but rather, HOW well will it do? Will it see moderate success, or substantial success. That all depends on how Nintendo plays their hand, and them making sure they deliever a steady flow of games from now on. There isn't any "blame" to be laid anywhere, honestly. They just need to pick their shit up and get back up to speed. Period.

The controller isn't a great piece of tech. Can you really say "OMG! I can't live without a touch screen controller! Its revolutionary! Essencial!" Great games are on the way. More than a year after the system's release. More 2D platform games? Bring it on. 300 for a 2D platform system. Remember the GC? Fanboys were like "wait for Metroid wait for Smash wait for Zelda wait for MK" and what happened? Wii U will sell like crap in 2014 and deserves so. We all know that. Wii U is a failure. Period.

DakonBlackblade said: