By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - I wish Nintendo didn't own the rights to the Pokemon IP

Just played a good 10 hours of Pokemon X on my cousins 3DS over the past couple days. I can't stand it. Honestly. It feels like more of the exact same formula I've been playing for 12+ years. It even seems MORE childish than ever. I get that they want the game to appeal to everyone, but what about the gamers that grew up with the franchise? When is Nintendo going to cater to those (now older) gamers?

I'm not saying make this hardcore Pokemon game. But I feel like a little girl playing the game now. It's sad really. Pokemon used to be hands down the best portable game available in my opinion.

Maybe they can make a good Wii U pokemon game. Or an MMO style Pokemon game. Something that doesn't involve dressing up my little pink and cute monsters or entering them into a fashion show.

Thoughts on the current status of the Pokemon games?

NOTE: This does not reflect the sales of the game, as X/Y will easily move 10+ million copies. However, how many of those will be people that grew up with it, rather than the current gen of 5-12 year old gamers?

Currently own:

• Ps4

Currently playing: Witcher 3, Walking Dead S1/2, GTA5, Dying Light, Tomb Raider Remaster, MGS Ground Zeros

Around the Network

Funny how 99% of the people at the Nintendo World Launch event look to be over 18. Lol.

(When is Nintendo going to cater to those (now older) gamers?)

Actually that is who they cater towards the most with Pokemon. You will be surprised at how many 20 something year-olds love and play pokemon. In fact Exp Share in the recent game is most likely to cater towards those people the most, because they can't be bothered to have grind fest.

>It even seems MORE childish than ever

Probably because you're older than you've ever been.