By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - PC Discussion - PC vs. Consoles - Cost and power comparison

I have a general question about PC gaming.

How much would it cost to build or buy factory built a PC that was comparable in power to the PS4?

Also, could you even buy or build a PC even as powerful as the PS3 around $260?  (including WIFI/Bluetooth, Blue Ray and peripherals)?

I get that PC's certainly have a higher ceiling, but how does the cost differential come into play?  How long will it be before I could purchase a PS4 level PC for the same price as the PS4?

Lifetime Sales Prediction - 6/29/2013
Wii U - 38 million
XBOX One - 88 million
Playstation 4 - 145 million

Around the Network

Edit: I apparently have no idea what I'm talking about.

Love and tolerate.

Salnax said:
I'm no expert, but based on what I can find around the internet, a PS4-level PC you build yourself will cost around $800 or $900, including just the basic hardware but not any keyboards or monitors.

A $260 PC won't be able to play a lot of PS3-level games.

You're clearly not. $900 is a ridiculous price for the mid-range parts that are in the PS4/XBone.

Salnax said:
I'm no expert, but based on what I can find around the internet, a PS4-level PC you build yourself will cost around $800 or $900, including just the basic hardware but not any keyboards or monitors.

W-T-F? Someone delete that trolling attempt?

A PS4 level PC will cost you about the same as  a PS4. The diffrence will probably be that games on the PC won't run as good as the same games on the PS4 because of optimization on the console, but it doesn't mean that they won't run well.

You can find a PS3 level PC in dumps for free. You certainly can't buy a new PC anymore with those parts because PC tech has gone several generations ahead since PS3 launch.

My Etsy store

My Ebay store