By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Is the worship of God really necessary?

Soleron said:
insomniac17 said:

Bolded: Correct. That would be true of any time, and of any person except for Jesus. But again, in Christianity, to be saved, you must accept Jesus Christ as your savior. That's literally it. 

Why do people bother going to Church then? The moral teachings are not needed (you can ignore almost all of them) and the act of worship only needs to be accepting him as your savior?

Well, I find it to be great for nap time.

Seriously though, this is something that I have wondered myself. If you only have to accept Christ as your savior, could you not then do anything you want and have all your sins forgiven?

The answer is that you can't. I'm no expert, but I've come to realize that once you have accepted Christ as your savior, you won't want to sin. It's really hard to explain. As I said, I'm sort of an outsider looking in on this whole thing, but what I've seen has left me baffled. These people that believe, they work to sin less in their life. They want to live up to the standard that God set for them, but know that they can't. Still, they strive for it anyway, because they love God. 

To accept Jesus is not just to say "I accept Jesus Christ as my savior" but to accept it in your heart, mind, and soul. You accept that Jesus died for you, and that he loved you. You want to live up to his teachings, because... well, I don't know. That's where I'm stuck. Maybe I'll understand it some day, but I'm just as confused as you are. I wish I could explain it, but I'm guessing this is where faith comes in. When you truly believe, you just don't want to sin.

Around the Network

ehhh, he/she/it don't exists anyway so who cares.

Nobody's perfect. I aint nobody!!!

Killzone 2. its not a fps. it a FIRST PERSON WAR SIMULATOR!!!! ..The true PLAYSTATION 3 launch date and market dominations is SEP 1st