By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - What should I do if I run out of harddrive space on my ps3?

What is the easiest and cheapest way to rectify this problem? I am not too tech savvy so some crazy mumbo jumbo is not going to help me and will just make me angry. :P  Also, it would be preferabble if the solution does not involve voiding warranty.

"Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth." -My good friend Mark Aurelius

Around the Network

Delete stuff. Or use your secret alternate HD that is 5 times bigger than the one you normmaly use.

Above: still the best game of the year.

Get a bigger harddrive. Swapping the PS3 one doesn't void warrantly. It's also not a techie job to replace.

Alternatively just delete some stuff - PSN games you no longer play - you can redownload them anyway, game installs of games you no longer play - those are under Game Data or similar in the Game menu, video files you put on the ps3 (though maybe not ones you bought and downloaded, since some of those can't be redownloaded, I think).

alekth said:

Get a bigger harddrive. Swapping the PS3 one doesn't void warrantly. It's also not a techie job to replace.

Alternatively just delete some stuff - PSN games you no longer play - you can redownload them anyway, game installs of games you no longer play - those are under Game Data or similar in the Game menu, video files you put on the ps3 (though maybe not ones you bought and downloaded, since some of those can't be redownloaded, I think).

Are you sure switching hard drives does not void warranty? What about external hard drives? Do they work with the ps3? Can you play things directly from the external hard drive? (for example, if I bought Castle crashers, put it on the external drive, could I play it?