By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - 50Hz LCD's are HORRIBLE!

I finally made my move and went to buy a nice big Full HD TV. I settled on a 40" Bravia. I felt like the shit walking with that huge box (they're still waaay too expensive in South Africa for most folks, especially a 23yr old like myself).

When I got home I eagerly set it up and plugged in my new HDMI cable. The first game was Killzone2. I was absolutely amaaazed by the picture quality. It was stunning.

When I started playing MGS4 (my new best game ever btw) something started bothering me though. It was the refresh rate. It wasn't clear as day, but I noticed it. My eyes actually hurt after playing for a while. The same thing happened in Uncharted and Killzone2. 50Hz LCD's didn't cut it for me, and I'm no graphics whore.

4 Days after buying the Bravia I packed it up again. It was a very hard thing to do. I had to tell the salesman that sold me the thing that it wasn't good enough for me. I could see them thinking "What a spoilt bastard!". To my horror they had no 100Hz LCD's in that store as they don't sell high-end stuff, and I sure as hell wasn't getting a plasma!

I took my R9 000 (Around $1200 I guess) and went to a shop next door. They promised to sell me a 1year old floor model 100Hz Bravia that was WAY to expensive for me new. When I got there they accidentally sold it! It was a good thing.

Then I saw a 42" 200Hz LG that was R14 000 ($1800). The whole point of the thread is to say that the difference is HUGE. I'm SO happy I had the balls to say 50Hz isn't good enough for me. Some of the people involved thought it was arrogant, but I'm the one that's going to spend hundreds of hours looking at it.