By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - 1UP reviews Super Mario Galaxy - 9.5

twesterm said:
Lost tears of Kain said:
naznatips said:
Did anyone else find nothing negative in this review? I don't understand how they can give a game a 9.5 when they can't find anything negative not a month after giving Halo a 10 and complaining about the campaign mode being polished but mediocre? I like the review, and it's well written, but damn they aren't helping me respect their site's scoring system when they do stupid stuff like this.

Don't get me wrong. I doubt I will score the game higher than a 9.5 myself, but I'm not 1UP and I'm not a professional review source. Professional review sources should be consistent. If you can't find anything to complain about in the game, and spend the whole review claiming it's the best platformer ever, then what did you use as a basis for the 9.5? Is there some 1UP company policy that prevents Nintendo games from scoring 10s?

Halo also has more then a mediocre campaign, mario galaxy is technically only the compaign, Halo also has alot of features.

THe average right now from game rankings is 96, so 1 up is almost right on the dot

1. The 1UP review actually brought the average score down (not complaining, just letting you know).

2. Halo 3 has the extra content because it needs it to be a complete game. Mario doesn't need the fantastic multiplayer because it has a perfect campaign. Having just a lot of extra features doesn't make anything good.

-edit-
And just so the thread doesn't derail and I don't get drug into a completely unnecessary argument, I'm not complaining about the 1UP score, I'm not comparing Halo 3 to SMG, and I'm not saying anything bad about Halo 3 so don't even try to start with me on any of those things.

Sorry if this is argueing