By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Lair Impressions

So I rented Lair, the subject of mostly horrendous reviews and the mockery of many lately and I started playing it.

I'm still early in the game, but my impressions are as follows:

- The controls are not as bad as was complained about. The reason I rented the game was if the controls were horrible I would probably hate it, so I didn't wanna drop money on it. Totally exaggerated control problems. Yes, you can only use motion controls and yes they are definitely not perfect. There are occasions when the 180 degree turn fail and it's annoying but a far cry from the reviews which made the game sound unplayable.  The motion controls are so easy, you can literally play the game with one hand (this is not an exaggeration as I tried that and it worked).

- My complaints are actually about other stuff in the game.  

1. Too many short cut scenes after short play sequences. They completely kill the momentum of the game and are overdone. Every time a new objective comes in, they show some set of enemies come in and it's not necessary.

2. The flight combat is unsatisfactory. It plays more like Jet fighters (or X Wings) than dragons in the actual combat aspect which is disappointing, they should have done it differently. You don't breathe fire, you shoot it. It's more like ammunition and you shoot it non stop. Not very dragonlike and makes it feel like a weird dragon/jet combat system. I don't like it basically.  Not too fun either for the most part.

3. The ground combat. Too simple, very button mashy. You run around mashing the swipe or fire button and annihilate lots of guys. If you like Dynasty Warriors or any of those games you might like it, but for me it's not very good.