By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - VGchartz's Demon's Souls thread

ithis said:
blunty51 said:
ithis said:

Should I keep upgrading my short spear or should I keep the necessary elements for something better?

And how do I kill the tower knight? Nah, don't tell me, I'll figure it out :P

It depends on the upgrade path (sharp, moon etc) you plan to take, and your character class..

I'm a soldier I think. I use a spear and that fire resistance shield to poke at the enemies. Sometimes i cut them with a scimitar, or shoot at them with a bow. Are there clearly defined upgrade paths? I thought you just upgraded the stats you needed to use the weapons you wanted.

Well I'm no weapons expert, but I'd say the short spear is good for tight spaces, and the broad sword for multiple enemies. Soldier is supposed to be one of those well-balanced classes, but I'd suggest focusing on the strength stat since the class is actually a bit more melee based.

There are upgrade paths...the most basic uses hardstone and sharpstone which can go up to plus10, but those don't really yield any bonuses to your stats. But depending on what level you reach, (say for example, Short Spear plus4), the other upgrade paths start to unlock by blacksmith ed. Some examples are Sharp, Quality, Crushing. I'd recommend Crushing for a soldier class, which I think starts at plus3 or something. It gives a bonus to Strength.

To be honest there are too many weapons in the game for me personally to know what's best for you...I'd suggest you check out Wiki for information on all the weapons...and upgrades.

Around the Network
blunty51 said:
ithis said:

I'm a soldier I think. I use a spear and that fire resistance shield to poke at the enemies. Sometimes i cut them with a scimitar, or shoot at them with a bow. Are there clearly defined upgrade paths? I thought you just upgraded the stats you needed to use the weapons you wanted.