By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - A 4th Console - Let's talk about Potential 8th Gen Contenders

There will be a 4th console next generation, perhaps even more. It won't be a mainstream device though, much like the HyperScan and the Zeebo.

I'm a filmmaker, writer, and gamer. Add me on Xbox Live or message me!

XBL Gamertag: StraitupBeastin

Around the Network

As I said already in another old post, Sega should get back to the console race.
Name of the console: SegawsomesauceofwinFOREVER. I'd so buy that.

Quem disse que a boca é tua?

Qual é, Dadinho...?

Dadinho é o caralho! Meu nome agora é Zé Pequeno!

It IS possible but it will take creativity to create something different enough from the established brands to catch people's imagination but close enough 3rd party developers could port over their titles. Very few corporations have that much innovation.

If they follow Nintendo's model of selling at a profit instead of Sony & MS failed model of razor's & blades then they only need a modest amount of success to be profitable.

The biggest problem is needing an internal development studio. No upstart can rely solely on 3rd parties to provide content. They'll need strong internal development to create content that really 'brands' the console like the 'Wii' series brands the Wii as an accessible, fun console for all and Halo branded Xbox as a FPS, serious cutting edge gaming machine (a brand MS has since outgrown but served them well to break in).

Some developers could be bought - but - most are carrying large debtloads that would need to be absorbed too. Those that aren't will be expensive to purchase - however Take Two would be a prime acquistion. Imagine 2k sports and GTA exclusivity! And ah, Carnival games too. Creating studios from scratch is possible (lots of laid off industry people...) but risky and would lack any known IPs.