By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - How bad has square enix been for sony this gen

One_touch_KO said:
Lurker said:
Square just shot themselves in the foot.

I don't know how much the rest of you know about Japanese culture (I'm an expert), but honor and shame are huge parts of it. It's not like it is in America where you can become successful by being an asshole. If you screw someone over in Japan, you bring shame to yourself, and the only way to get rid of that shame is repentance.

What this means is the Japanese public, after hearing about this, is not going to want to purchase FFXIII, nor will they purchase any of Square's games. This is HUGE. You can laugh all you want, but Square has alienated an entire market with this move.

Square, publicly apologize and cancel FFXIII for 360 or you can kiss your business goodbye.

Troll post of the year.

He's referencing this:

Around the Network

I thing i dont understand if they can make FF13 multi why cant they do the same with Star ocean 4.

Well it might sell more overall for the PS3 but SE just wants more copies sold, and right now 360 is dominating Europe and America (Wii excluded of course), so it was just a logical move. FFXIII is still exclusive in Japan and that's where the PS3 is dominating (again, Wii excluded).

This just sounds like another "Square betrayed Sony" thread which is bs. The same could be said about Nintendo back in the N64 days, but Nintendo decided to stick to cartridges while Sony went to disk which was better for developing. Square wants FF to sell, and there is more of a 360 userbase in the Americas ans Europe than PS3. It was just a business move. SE was never a second party developer for Sony nor any other company... they are third party which means they develop for all platforms. Some people don't seem to understand that.

Square is just doing business, period. Just like they did with the N64.