By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Firm Sues Sony Over Cell, Wants PS3 Destroyed

ssj12 said:
fazz said:
ssj12 said:

... SPEs are not processors. ...

I thought the SPE's were 128-bit RISC processors

no their closer to a core then a processor, think about a core/processor hybrid.

A core is a processor.  Multiple cores placed on the same die are still multiple processors, regardless of the packaging.

This patent is all of:

A) Intentionally vague, attempting to cover a wide range of expected technology,
B) Not really applicable to the Cell, but
C) Close enough that it might just succeed in court.

EDIT: I've taken a closer look at the patent and all its diagrams at this link.  I've also programmed for the Cell.  There are similarities between this patent and the Cell microarchitecture, but there are also similarities between an x86 and a PowerPC.  I'm no lawyer, but as a student of microarchitecture design, these aren't the same thing.  The question is whether or not a judge who is not at all familiar with microarchitecture design would agree.

Around the Network
Nonquihote said:
See kids, no matter how badly you fail in life.

Theres still a way to get rich, just sue sue sue till you win.

Gotta love the USA  

Entroper said:

EDIT: I've taken a closer look at the patent and all its diagrams at this link. I've also programmed for the Cell. There are similarities between this patent and the Cell microarchitecture, but there are also similarities between an x86 and a PowerPC. I'm no lawyer, but as a student of microarchitecture design, these aren't the same thing. The question is whether or not a judge who is not at all familiar with microarchitecture design would agree.