By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Kim Jong-Il's son lines up French brain surgeon: report

TheRealMafoo said:
halogamer1989 said:
Mafoo and gomezc-- I thanks u for your service. To the rest of the folks who say that we should not be involved with fighting wars in other countries against terrorism, don't worry. Someone will stand up and Get Some any day of the week to defend against radicalism.

Thanks, but I was never in the service, I worked for 3 years at the Air Force Research Lab, and then 4 at the Air Force Test and Evaluation center. I was a contractor who helped design tools for the military, and put together wargaming efforts in order to test new equipment for our service men and women.

In this role, I got to meet thousands of military personnel, and feel honored to work on some systems that have saved peoples lives. We helped improve mine removal systems that military men would use to do humanitarian de-mining. When the Russians left Afghanistan, they left behind millions of mines. Our men go clear them so people (mostly kids) of foreign nations can live safer lives. I helped improve the tools for them.

When I worked with JEOD, we designed an entire suite of tools for removing IED's.

I was well paid. I do feel very proud that my efforts have helped our military personnel (and some of my designs have directly saved military lives), but never was I in harms way, or would I have ever been in a position to defend my country.

Gomezc on the other hand, will. Thank you for your service.

Oh, and a side note: in this thread a future lawyer and a future soldier debated about military personal and there place in the world. Only the soldier did it with class, respect, and character. 

As I would have expected.

Tb expected.  Calm, cool, and conservative always takes the prize :)

Around the Network