By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - PC Discussion - Gaming PC for the price of a console, that outperforms a console :)

Those two will come under the combined price of your PS3 + notebook deal.

Eh yes but the nice thing about a Notebook is: You can take it with you Besides PCs build for audio/video playback simply are not very good if you do not want to put quite a bit of work into it. And gaming PCs will always have the disadvantage that you have to play at the desk. This is cool for RTS but somehow I graduated to the couch. Perhaps I get mellow with old age.

nd ecery time a PC gamer buys a game he saves 10 dollars over the PS3 gamers

True. PC games are cheaper. I wouldn't argue that consoles have a lower total cost of ownership than a PC over their lifetime. But they are much more convenient. The PS3 (and to a lesser extent the 360) is a first class media center that can compete with most Media Center PCs. And everything just works. Games simply work too and look amazing. PCs have 2 years technological advantage and the only game that looks decisively better is Crysis. You might switch on some higher resolutions and get a bit better textures in Call of Duty4 or Gears etc. but in the end its a wash. And now that almost all good PC developers publish (most of the time first) on consoles, console gaming really has PC gaming by the balls. This may be different in one or two years when the technological advantage of the average PC has outclassed PS3/360 and games will look much better there.

Around the Network

I will concede to your point that many developers are publishign their games to consoles as well right now. The only one worth a mention (and it's the best dev company imho) is Blizzard and only because its games simply can't be ported over to a console, not unless it had a mouse or 1-9 buttons likes a PC.