By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - PC Discussion - i want to learn how to code....

Real developers use Ada.

Around the Network

I know I am jumping in this kind of late, but I would NOT learn java or C# before C++.

You will learn bad C++ habits by starting with either one of them. When you switch to C++ you will leave memory leaks everywhere. Start with C/C++. I would skip a C book as a beginner C++ book will cover most of what you will learn in a C one, then get in to OOP.

Managed Languages (C#, Java, J#, etc) are very good for web apps and low performance requirement windows apps. C# is what I use for the majority of my projects at work (I am a Software engineer,)

But...

The game engine I am writing is all in C++.

FYI the order I learned in was:

BASIC
QBASIC
C/ASM
Pascal
C++
Java
C#

I am a Gauntlet Adventurer.

I strive to improve my living conditions by hoarding gold, food, and sometimes keys and potions. I love adventure, fighting, and particularly winning - especially when there's a prize at stake. I occasionally get lost inside buildings and can't find the exit. I need food badly. What Video Game Character Are You?

Mega Man 9 Challenges: 74%

Waltz Tango Jitterbug Bust a move Headbanging
Bunny Hop Mr. Trigger Happy Double Trouble Mr. Perfect Invincible
Almost Invincible No Coffee Break Air Shoes Mega Diet Encore
Peacekeeper Conservationist Farewell To Arms Gamer's Day Daily Dose
Whomp Wiley! Truly Addicted! Truly Hardcore! Conqueror Vanquisher
Destroyer World Warrior Trusty Sidearm Pack Rat Valued Customer
Shop A Holic Last Man Standing Survivor Hard Rock Heavy Metal
Speed Metal Fantastic 9 Fully Unloaded Blue Bomber Eco Fighter
Marathon Fight Quick Draw G Quick Draw C Quick Draw S Quick Draw H
Quick Draw J Quick Draw P Quick Draw T Quick Draw M Quick Draw X
Andir said: