By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - what game have you played the most?

JaggedSac said:
I think you guys are throwing these numbers around a little too lightly. 1000 hours equals 41 days. I understand an MMO it is possible, but AoE? I played alot, and I mean alot, of AoE II and it would probably not come anywhere near 1000 hours.

"Oblivion is my most played single player game in recent years, a bit more than 1000 hours." - And I don't know how you could play this game for 1000 hours. I know a guy who did everything in the game in 80 hours. There is only so much to do on a game that does not have an online component.

I hate when people throw around numbers lightly! I didn't do that.

AoE II came out in Oct 1999, and I bought it early 2000. Back then I was a student and played it for 1.5 years on average at least 15 hours a week (typically at least 4 gaming sessions á 4 hours). Yes, on my summer vacation too.

But since then I've gone back to the game 3-4 times playing it for a few months or ½ a year at a time.

And for more than a year I practically lived in Cyrodiil and the planes of Oblivion. Yes, "normally" you only play it for 80-100 hours, but if you take things slowly, explore and just run around in the amazing world, crunch and figure out all the stats numbers, gather ingredients for potions, do most of the quests, create custom magic items and spells, buy 5-7 houses and fill them with all your 1000's of items (I even gathered stone bricks and all skulls and bones I could find), clear most of the +200 dungeons, die and get eaten every now and then, you will have spent hundreds of hours on just one character. Then you download add-ons, mods and replay the game with another char and harder difficulty level.