By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Website Topics - Article Comment Functionality Update

Good stuff. Can we do paragraphs in replies yet? Also does the markup enable spoiler tags?

Around the Network

This is my favorite upgrade of all time.

- "If you have the heart of a true winner, you can always get more pissed off than some other asshole."

Thank you @TalonMan for all your hard work, I just played around with it and it worked perfectly!

I'm not an expert with markdown, so I might be doing something wrong. I got it to work by just using the * symbol on both sides of a word,

when i did **test the output was **test

when I did **test** the output was test

TalonMan said:

Correct - that is how markdown is used (text is wrapped in some symbols). If you put a "*" on either side, you get italics - if you do two "*" on either side, you get bold. There is a TON of other formatting functionality available - if you're interested, I provided a link in my OP.

The bottom line is that this is basically a standardized syntax format for enabling "rich text" formatting, in non-richtext entry boxes...

Thanks @TalonMan I was a bit confused by the word either, as I assumed it meant it could be on one side or the other, but in this case it seems like it needs to be on both sides for it to work. 

Hi @TalonMan I just noticed a notification of someone replying to my comment inside an article, it seems like the notification was empty, I just wanted to let you know, not sure if this is happening to anyone else:

Around the Network
TalonMan said:
dmillos said:

Hi @TalonMan I just noticed a notification of someone replying to my comment inside an article, it seems like the notification was empty, I just wanted to let you know, not sure if this is happening to anyone else:

...let me know if it's fixed now

Perfect!