By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Wow, I'm shocked /s.

Looks like I was right, the rumour was bogus, both ACG and Sean W are not reliable sources, Jez originally called Sean W's rumour as something looking like it's from 4Chan until he knew it was a Youtuber who leaked it, Lol. Then he thought it made sense based on very weak speculation, one reason being that the Slipspace Lead had left the company, then he made an article saying he has sources that say it might be true but no hard evidence so take it with a grain of salt, now he's saying he used conflicting sources and is 50/50.

Weak stuff from Jez, he's usually more careful than this, Lol.

Unreal doesn't use Lua. Slipspace does.

Last edited by Ryuu96 - on 09 October 2022

Around the Network

Developer commented on Halo switching to Unreal Engine.

Since I'm a developer in the industry, actively working with UE, and decently far up the ladder (looking at senior soon), I'm going to give my thoughts on this.

The demands of Halo's sandbox and gameplay are fundamentally unachievable with the out-of-box features of UE4/5. Unfortunately, it's far too easy for those outside of the industry to see all the fancy marketing and demos and thing the engine is some gift from the gods. It really isn't. The architecture is full of technical debt, lack of care, and ineptitude.

Unreal makes very poor use of hardware resources. Your poor CPU is sitting there waiting constantly for fetches to main memory because the spaghettified object-oriented architecture is blowing your cache lines on every function call. Imagine if you were trying to work at your desk and had to walk a block down the street every time you needed to perform an action.