By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - is showing superior graphics in E3 and Demos legal?

I mean I don't think I see other industries do this, movies and what not, there might be fringe cases but you usually see a lawsuit . doesn't seem like the gaming industry has anything or any reason to not do it

practically 4/5 games have this issue in E3 reveals and all of  the open world ones end up like this.

Around the Network

Video games change in development. That doesn't excuse some of the worse examples, but I don't think that'd hold up in court unless it's advertised as the final build explicitly, then again, I'm not an expert in law so I could easily be wrong.

Plus some movies do have deleted scenes in trailers too, so it isn't quite exclusive to games. Although it isn't nearly as bad as games, that's natural because games change a lot.

am pretty sure they add these scenes in a final cut in movies after theaters. but thats kind of different. you're cutting something not downgrading the entire product here 

I don't really think it's illegal (I'm in the US), but it certainly comes off as shady, which is a good reason not to do it.

There is also the possibility that it's being done unintentionally. Perhaps developers create these games using hardware other than the PS4/Xbone, and sacrifices need to be made in the end.

MasterThief said:

practically 4/5 games have this issue in E3 reveals and all of  the open world ones end up like this.

No, they don't. You are overexaggerating.

Around the Network

Like the other said it is not ilegal because it is work-in-progress. It is bound to change, for better or for worse. Of course you can always imply that it is nasty marketing to show something that most likely not much representative of the final product.

Switch Friend Code: SW - 1286-0025-9138

I think they have disclaimers that say that it's not in-game/actual gameplay as a a necessity.