By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Switch preorders go live in Japan - and are gone in minutes

Wyrdness said:
Faelco said:

Yeah, they surely already have millions of additional stock... You don't know anything about stockage costs and the fact that you never produce a lot more than what you expect to sell, do you? 

But hey, who am I to talk about it. You're right, I surely don't know how a forecast and a production plan work... I'm only a production and logistics engineer after all! 

They expect to sell a lot more than 2m if you think they don't expect to than you're kidding yourself I know how financial reports are handled as I work with them frequently.

There is a huge difference between "they lied about their expectations" and "they will produce more quickly if it's sold out, or stocked a lot more just in case". I'm OK with the former, the later is irrealistic. 

Around the Network
Faelco said:
Kai_Mao said:
One person noted this on Twitter:

Take that for what you will.

That would be consistent with what we know. The people the most interested in the Switch are the usual Nintendo fans. Nintendo fans are not kids anymore, it's the people who grew up with Nintendo and are now in their 20s or 30s. Nintendo needs to interest a new demographic, especially kids, but they're having trouble with it. 

tbh that is the demographic you would expect to buy any console at launch really not just because it's the usual Nintendo fans.

Faelco said:

There is a huge difference between "they lied about their expectations" and "they will produce more quickly if it's sold out, or stocked a lot more just in case". I'm OK with the former, the later is irrealistic.