By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
Blaze said:

I was so excited when LO was first being shown then the reviews kindda knocked that back a bit.

Once i started playing tho its awesome.... this is the first time in a long time i am 10+ hours into a JRPG and am not losing interest in the game...

Better then FF7 eh i don't know about that i mean they did it first so prolly not but LO is a good game but i happen to like that combat system because i can control everyone not just the AI running stuff for me.

They didnt do it first. Square Enix wouldn't have the Final Fantasy Pedigree if it wasnt for Hironobu Sakaguchi.

He was at the head of all decision from 1 - 10. Makes you think why 12 was so poor doesnt it? 

Around the Network

As a game that comes out almost 10 years later than FFVII, one would expect it to be quite a bit better.

FFVII was hailed because of it's features and presentation at the time. It made a very big impact on the JRPG genre, something that Lost Oddysee failed to do..

I find it sad that there are people who couldn't appreciate FFXII, but I for one thought it was great and welcomed the changes to the somewhat stagnant genre.

Lost Oddysee got the same feeling from me as Dragon Quest VIII did. I enjoyed it, but it didn't really leave an impact.

@selnor

12 = Poor...WTF

Well it definetely wasn't worse than the piece of crap 8 was..

BTW

sakaguchi NEVER directed an FF after 4...

so the best FF which was VI didn't have that much input from him

12 was definetely the most innovative of all of them..& it got higher reviews than LO

All hail the KING, Andrespetmonkey

Darc Requiem said:
Dallinor said:
Metacritic:

Final Fantasy 7: 92%
Lost Odyssey: 79%

Sales:

Final Fantasy 7 = 9.78 million
Lost Odyssey = 340K

I'm not saying the game is bad, but Final fantasy VII was a much bigger success both critically and sales wise. With some critics claiming FFVII "redefined the RPG genre".