By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Are the nintendo classic games so well rated, because we had lower standards back in the day?

Yes.

Super Mario Bros.
Metroid
The Legend of Zelda

Those three games kinda suck. The three sold well because at the time they were innovative. They're looked back at fondly partly because of the amazing modern games in their respective series.

I'm not trying to take away from Mario saving the game industry or Zelda establishing the action/adventure genre. But the original games kinda blow if you didn't grow up with them.

"On my business card I am a corporate president. In my mind I am a game developer. But in my heart I am a gamer." - Satoru Iwata

Around the Network
RolStoppable said:
kirby007 said:
RolStoppable said:
The classic games were rated highly, because they were that good. Put them side to side with current games and the quality of their design isn't really any worse than what we have now. In fact, the new games struggle to match or best the quality of the classics, despite having the benefit of over 20 years in technological advancements.

True nintendo nowadays would not be able to deliver the right experience for a starfox or fzero, they know they weren't that good to begin with back then and now it would be so very noticable the quality is low

Cool story, kirb. You must have dropped your joint in your Heineken.

It just makes perfect sense, why else wouldn't they release successors

"I think people should define the word crap" - Kirby007

Join the Prediction League http://www.vgchartz.com/predictions

Instead of seeking to convince others, we can be open to changing our own minds, and seek out information that contradicts our own steadfast point of view. Maybe it’ll turn out that those who disagree with you actually have a solid grasp of the facts. There’s a slight possibility that, after all, you’re the one who’s wrong.