By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - Kinect is Guarding the Korean Border

http://kotaku.com/microsofts-kinect-is-now-guarding-the-korean-border-1514792443

Microsoft's Kinect Is Now Guarding the Korean Border

North Korea and South Korea are separated by the most heavily armed border on Earth. But rest easy, there's a new guard on the lookout: Kinect.

Self-taught South Korean programmer Jae Kwan Ko developed a Kinect-based software system to monitor the DMZ (Demilitarized Zone), which separates the two countries. It was deployed at the border last August, but its existence wasn't made public until recently.

According to news site Hankooki (via tipster Sang), the Kinect-based system identifies objects crossing the DMZ. It can discern the difference between animals and humans. If the system detects a human, it will alert the nearby outpost. Further details are sparse—probably, because this involves national security. 1

"I've never even thought of a game system performing national defense tasks," Ko is quoted as saying. In the future, Ko says the sensor will detect heart rates and heat—which sounds like the DMZ's Kinect guard will be upgraded to the Xbox One version.

The Xbox One has yet to be released in South Korea.

가장 창조경제적인 이 사람… "게임기로 휴전선을 지킨다" [Hankooki Thanks, Sang!]

-----------------------------------------------------

it really is watching you... well some koreans..

Face the future.. Gamecenter ID: nikkom_nl (oh no he didn't!!) 

Around the Network

If that's what the Kinect is  used for in South Korea, then it is used for spying people while they are taking a shower in North Korea.  Fun for everyone.

---Member of the official Squeezol Fanclub---

AZWification said:

If that's what the Kinect is  used for in South Korea, then it is used for spying people while they are taking a shower in North Korea.  Fun for everyone.

Ha ha ha.

Meh, got nothing on this one