By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - Xbox Empire - New thread up soon!

crissindahouse said:
shikamaru317 said:

Lol. Is TressFX really that resource instensive though? I know that Nvidia's Fur tech has a pretty big impact on performance (which is why only the PC version of Witcher 3 uses it), but I was under the impression that AMD's TressFX was alot less demanding. It's not like there are that many bears in the game. Couldn't they simply design it so that render distance for foliage and ground clutter is halved when you're near a bear, that would hopefully free up enough resources to use TressFX on the bears. I don't know, I'm not a programmer. Then again there are wolves too, and they're going to have the same problem with the wolves' fur, and there are likely going to be alot more wolves in the game than bears.

I believe when Tomb Raider released on PC it was around 30% less performance with TressFX on very strong cards and around 50% on the cards with less power. No idea if they have improved it a lot since then but now it would be Lara and a bear with TressFX, I can imagine that this has to be very power consuming. 

Yes tress fx requires a whole lot of power. I played the game on highest setting possible without tress fx got 45fps consistently and tress fx on 25-35fps with frame rate dropping between the number stated above. Its demanding for sure.

Around the Network